Purpose

Building connections to advance applications

Machine learning (ML), and other large-data analysis techniques, have become essential tools for analyzing the ever-increasing sizes of scientific data returned from planetary missions. In addition, ML methods have demonstrated potential to assist in mission planning and operations. Planetary science and space physics have often been fields defined by sparse data concerns and extreme environments. These aspects provide a uniquely challenging, and rewarding field to apply data science methods.

This seminar series aims to bring together researchers in planetary science, space physics, data science, and other domain applications of data science. We welcome presentations from a broad array of fields including: Earth based and planetary science applications, educational efforts, and basic data science research.

Upcoming Seminar

November 23, 2021
9 AM Pacific / 12 PM Eastern / 5 PM Dublin

Matthew Cheng
University College London

Automated bow shock and magnetopause boundary detection with Cassini

Alexander Barrett
The Open University

Characterizing the ExoMars landing site at Oxia Planum using deep learning

Full seminar series schedule with abstracts.

Join

To receive invitations to our monthly series or to recommend speakers, please fill out our community form.

Organizers

Abigail Azari

Space Sciences Lab, University of California Berkeley

Andy Smith

University College London

Past Organizers

Caitriona Jackman

Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies